Cristin-resultat-ID: 1761715
Sist endret: 22. januar 2020, 12:45

Time has fallen asleep in the afternoon sunshine. A book on reading, writing, memory and forgetting in a library of living books

  • Mette Edvardsen
  • Kristien Van den Brande
  • Victoria Pérez Royo og
  • Runa Borch Skolseg



Mousse Publishing and osloBIENNALEN

Om resultatet

Publiseringsår: 2019
Antall sider: 536
ISBN: 978-88-6749-387-6

Beskrivelse Beskrivelse


Time has fallen asleep in the afternoon sunshine. A book on reading, writing, memory and forgetting in a library of living books


The project Time has fallen asleep in the afternoon sunshine starts as a group of people who dedicate themselves to memorizing a book of their choice. Together they form a library collection consisting of living books. The “books” pass their time in libraries reading, memorizing, talking to each other, going for walks outside, prepared to be read by a visitor. The readings take place as intimate one-to-one encounters where the “book” recites its content to the reader. Over time the project grew into a library collection of more than eighty living books in twelve different languages across Europe and beyond. The project developed into a bookshop, a publishing house and an exhibition format, and hosted workshops, lectures and talks and, eventually, a book. The publication brings together eighteen text contributions from artists and theoreticians with a varying degree of proximity to the project. Their reflections touch on memory and forgetting; on the practice of learning by heart and its corporeality; on reading, re-reading, reading aloud, reading for oneself and for others; on writing, re-writing and translating; on invisible and impossible literatures; on alternative temporalities and their respective economies; on archives, libraries, bodies and other sites for conservation; on the problems of authorship and originality; on immateriality and its discontents; on the equivocal borders between reality and fiction; and on the strange and unforeseeable dynamics of people and stories coming together, disseminating and unexpectedly crossing paths again. The second part of the book is a visual essay that documents the processes of memorizing, reading and re-writing. (


Mette Edvardsen

  • Tilknyttet:
    ved Avdeling Dans ved Kunsthøgskolen i Oslo

Kristien Van den Brande

  • Tilknyttet:

Victoria Pérez Royo

  • Tilknyttet:

Runa Borch Skolseg

  • Tilknyttet:
1 - 4 av 4

Kapitler/Artikler Kapitler/Artikler

When time has fallen asleep.

Edvardsen, Mette. 2019, KHIOAnnet

Reading, listening, enduring.

Cvejić, Bojana. 2019, KHIOAnnet


Edvardsen, Mette; Van den Brande, Kristien; Royo, Victoria Pérez; Skolseg, Runa Borch. 2019, KHIOInnledning
1 - 3 av 3